These Deadly Prophecies by Andrea Tang

These Deadly Prophecies by Andrea Tang Book Review

Sharing is caring!

These Deadly Prophecies by Andrea Tang is a fun and magical murder mystery that reminds me a bit of The Inheritance Games by Jennifer Lynn Barnes. The premise is interesting, and the mystery aspect keeps you on your toes throughout the whole story.

 

Disclosure: this post may contain affiliate links. This just means that I make a little money if you buy something through one of my links. It does not cost you any more to purchase an item through my links. It just helps support this blog so I can continue to bring you more content like this. As an Amazon Associate, I earn from qualifying purchases.

 

These Deadly Prophecies


Author: Andrea Tang

Narrator: Katharine Chin

Pub. Date: Jan. 30, 2024

Genre: YA Mystery

Pages: 256 pages / 9 hours 5 minutes

Rating: 4 stars

Spice: none

Content Warnings: swearing, murder, death, & gore

Synopsis:

A teenage sorcerer’s apprentice must solve her boss’s murder in order to prove her innocence in this twisty, magic-infused murder mystery perfect for fans of Knives Out and The Inheritance Games.

Being an apprentice to one of the world’s most famous sorcerers has its challenges; Tabatha Zeng just didn’t think they would include solving crime. But when her boss, the infamous fortuneteller Sorcerer Solomon, predicts his own brutal death–and worse, it comes true–Tabatha finds herself caught in the crosshairs.

The police have their sights set on her and Callum Solomon, her murdered boss’s youngest son. With suspicion swirling around them, the two decide to team up to find the real killer and clear their own names once and for all.

But solving a murder isn’t as easy as it seems, especially when the suspect list is mostly the rich, connected, and magical members of Sorcerer Solomon’s family. And Tabatha can’t quite escape the nagging voice in her head asking: just how much can she really trust Callum Solomon?

 

Book Review

Thank you to Penguin Teen and PRH Audio for the gifted ARC and ALC of These Deadly Prophecies by Andrea Tang. All opinions are my own.

 

Thoughts

This was a quick and interesting story that had lovable characters and a unique premise.

I liked the fact that I couldn’t figure out who to trust, so the mystery reveal at the end was great.

The narrator did a nice job telling the story and distinguishing between the different characters.

Final Thoughts

If you enjoyed The Inheritance Games, I think you would like this book as well. It reminded me of that story but with a magical twist.

Overall, I would recommend this book to both teens and adults for a fun mystery.

 

Where to Read & Purchase

You can purchase a copy of this book at the following retailers:

Bookshop.org (supports independent book stores) [affiliate]

Libro.fm (audiobooks that support independent book stores) [affiliate]

get a free audiobook when you start a membership

Amazon [affiliate]

Books a Million (BAM) [affiliate]

AbeBooks [affiliate]

Barnes & Noble

 

Have you read These Deadly Prophecies or any other books by Andrea Tang?

I would love to hear your thoughts! Comment down below.

Sharing is caring!

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *